top of page

SPORTS

Aerial Adventures in trees 

These tree-top adventures comprise of ladders, swings, rope bridges and zip wires all up in the tree tops.
Great fun and satisfying to complete.
One is Treezone at Loch Lomond Shores (about a 20 minute drive) https://iye.scot/treezone-loch-lomond/
The other, larger enterprise is Go Ape - which has two of the longest zip wires in the UK - is just north of Aberfoyle (about 30 mins drive from Appletree) https://goape.co.uk/days-out/scotland/aberfoyle

 

Clay Pigeon Shooting 

Available near Alexandria (about 20 minutes from Appletree)
http://lomondshooting.co.uk

Climbing 

The famous Whangy  is nearby.  This is accessed by a taking fifteen minute walk from Queens View Car Park on the Stockiemuir Road.  Climbers of varying abilities are attracted to the unusual rock formations.  More about the Whangy can be found here: https://www.walkhighlands.co.uk/glasgow/the-whangie.shtml
 

 

cycling 

Appletree Cottage is on the Sustrans Route 7 which runs from Sunderland in the north of England to Inverness in the north of Scotland.
Local bike hire can be found at Mugdock Park www.mugdockcountrycycles.com (15 mins) (which is itself a great place to cycle round) and at Aberfoyle (15 mins) www.aberfoylebikehire.co.uk.  
Slightly further afield is at Loch Katrine www.katrinewheelz.co.uk.  A great day out is to hire a bike at Loch Katrine, take it on the passenger steamer up the loch to Stronachlacher and then cycle the ten miles or so around the quiet loch shore road back to where you started.

GOLF
there are 14 golf clubs boasting 16 courses all within about half an hour’s drive!
 
Strathendrick (9 holes) http://www.strathendrickgolfclub.co.uk
Buchanan Castle (18) http://buchanancastlegolfclub.co.uk
Balfron (18) http://www.balfrongolfsociety.org.uk
Ross Priory (9) https://www.scottishgolfcourses.com/dunbartonshire/rosspriory.html
Aberfoyle (18) http://www.aberfoylegolf.co.uk
Vale of Leven (18) http://www.volgc.org
The Carrick (18) http://www.cameronhouse.co.uk/cameron-club-loch-lomond/the-carrick.html
The Wee Demon (9) http://www.cameronhouse.co.uk/cameron-club-loch-lomond/the-wee-demon.html
Loch Lomond(18) https://www.lochlomond.com
Dumbarton (18) http://www.dumbartongolfclub.co.uk
Cardross (18) www.cardrossgolfclub.co.uk
Helensburgh (18) https://www.helensburghgolfclub.co.uk
Clober (18) http://www.clobergolfclub.co.uk
Hilton (2 x 18) https://www.hiltonpark.n
et
Milngavie (18) http://www.milngaviegolfclub.co.uk/the-course/welcome/
Pony Trekking 

Duncryne Equestrian Centre is about a ten minute drive from Appletree: www.takeupthereins.co.uk/listing/17613/duncryne-equitation-and-trekking-centre
There is also Loch Lomond pony trekking: https://www.lomond-ponytreks.co.uk   

Segway 

Segway can also be found at  iye.scot/tours/segways

Tennis 

Killearn tennis club is about 15 minutes away and welcomes non-members: www.killearntennisclub.org.uk

Tree top activities  

Great fun can be hat at Tree Zone in Balloch (15 minutes) iye.scot/treezone-loch-lomond/ or at the larger (and slightly further away) Go Ape just north of Aberfoyle (20mins) goape.co.uk/locations/aberfoyle

Ten Pin Bowling 

available in Stirling at AMF bowling: https://www.amf-bowling.co.uk/our-centres/stirling

bottom of page